Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

M1 & M2 prefix - ASC

ss002d6252

Following on from a linked thread in which the M1 & M2 prefix is being discussed I have compiled the following spreadhseet.

I have no background at all in how the prefixes were allocated or in the ASC so hopefully I'm coming at it without any pre-conceived ideas.

post-51028-0-24118800-1454679648_thumb.p

Hypothesis:

M1 was allocated to 1 year special enlistment men. In Nov 14 the special enlistment was done away with and men were enlisted on DOW terms, there seems to be a sharp cut-off at the end of Oct 14.

M2 was introduced for DOW terms of enlistment but not before a few DOW men were given M1 prefixes. So far I've not found any M1 & M2 dates of enlistment which overlap.

EDIT:
An AO of 4 Aug 14 offered 1 year special enlistment terms for drivers etc

There was a drive in mid-Aug 14 to recruit ASC men to the New Army- this was on DOW terms so doesn't appear to have been men with the M1 prefix.

Craig

Edited by ss002d6252

Craig,

I am still trying to research M1/5444 Pte. Woolgar who was at Grove Park in 1915. His mates from the medal roll M1/ 5431 to M1/ 5446 are all listed M1. However Pte. Naylor (Fred) 5434 has had his entry altered, the M1 is crossed through and a 2 is written beside it. Can you shed any light on this ?

Edit, Had a thought on this myself, If Private Naylor had failed to meet the required standard of driving he may have been backloaded to receive further training. He would then have popped up in time for the M2 (2nd New Army ) intake and had his number altered to suit.

Sounds good to me anyway !

Tomo

Craig,

Another source suggests:

M1 - New Army Mechanical Transport electricians

M2 - New Army Mechanical Transport fitters (could be used as drivers)

Clearly, the 1 - 4 sequence that was used for New Army supply and horse transport men was not followed. Presumably, there was a reason for this. Hope you can suss it out!