Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Colour Sergeant

Nizzeh

Hi there,

Don't know if I'm posting in the correct section but it is the closest I can find to the question I have.

I'd like to know how common it was for someone to be entered into the army as a Lance Corporal and then subsequently promoted to Colour Sergeant. I have no knowledge of how the ranking and/or promotion system works in the British armed forces so I'd be grateful if anyone would be ale to give me this information. I'd also like to know if I'm able to find out exactly the reason for the promotion.

Thanks,

Nizzeh

not unusual to see this, seen it a few times on coldstream papers

he would most likely have started as a Pte and not a L/Cpl.

Could have had some previous military service and a job in civilian life that meant promoting straight to rank as he was used to managing/leading people

In the pre war regular army probably at least twelve years to achieve Colour Sergeant rank.

During WW1 it was possible as Coldstreamer says, especially in the New Army or Pals battalions to be promoted (or appointed) Colour sergeasnt very quickly if had previous military service, leadership post in civilian life

My Grandfather was in the Merchant Navy as a Seaman prior to WW1. As an RNVR member he was mobilised on 2 October 1914 as an Ordinary Seaman. Because of his previous experience in the Merchant Navy he saw rapid promotion to AB, LS and Petty Officer by 19 Dec 1914.

Edited by Lawryleslie

Hi there, thanks for the replies. I don't believe he had any army experience previous to the war and there is no record of him as being a private which has surprised me.. I found the attached and again, struck me as odd that he is down as "CQMS" and another part is scribbled out and moved to C/SJT. I believe the scribbled out bit to be W.O.CL.II? Why would this be done?

Here is the image: https://gyazo.com/5e3369c82bb8cfcbfced209ec304c148

Thanks again.

Edited by Nizzeh