Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

"German" army uniforms; Finnish Civil War photo

apple

Apologies to the moderators for the cross post. I am also posting this photo in the Eastern Front thread. If you want to merge them/ I'm breaking the rules, I understand.

The caption for the photo, in the book this comes from, labels the soldiers in this photo as "German soldiers". This is not beyond the realms of possibility as there were German soldiers in the vicinity of these girls when they were captured.

Finnish White guards, who had no set uniform, would be the other option.

I'm not an expert on late war, this photo is from approx. 1/5/1918, German uniforms. Further complicating matters would be that it would be (theoretically) possible that Finnish White Guards would be wearing German uniforms.

But yes, are any of the 3 soldiers in the photo wearing German uniforms?

Image1

Hi Apple, could you place the image at a higher resolution on photo sharing site, I would like to look at the armbands, it might be the Suojeluskunta. It certainly looks like Finland, where was the picture taken please, and which book? I plan to look at my collection of Finnish Civil War books, including the 6 volume Official History. As you no doubt might be aware the people in the "German" army uniforms might be Finnish Jaegers.

Or PM me.

Regards

Mart

Hello,

The two soldiers with the helmet and the guy on the left with the peaked cap are Germans. I see the picture is taken at Hauho? There were German troops there (some have been killed in the fighting and are buried there, IIRC).

The guy on the right with the white armband and the cap is a Finnish soldier of the White army.

Regards,

Jan

Hello,

The ladies were from a women company of Valkeakoski Red Guard. Quite a few were killed on May 1, 1918 near Hauho. There's a mass grave and a memorial there: http://www.hamewiki.fi/wiki/Valkeakosken_naiskomppanian_hauta