Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

R.F.A. 101st Brigade or not ?

Mickpetty

I am researching the history and theatre of war for my G/F in law, Gnr Herbert Taylor 71588 R.F.A. It all started with this photograph post-123376-0-22929900-1436974696_thumb.. The actual size of the photo is almost 2ft long, and is not in my possession yet. However, I have managed to photograph it in five different segments with an iPad and then stitch it back together again. It shows C Battallion, 101st Brigade, 22nd Division 1915. Thanks to the Long Long Trail and the book "Under The Devils Eye", I now have a basic knowledge of where he served. I spent a lot of time searching for his M.I.C. because his full name was Thomas H. Taylor, but used the name Herbert. It's the numbers on the card that confuse me, especially the numbers under the heading "Roll". Are they Battalion numbers, or Battery numbers ?. post-123376-0-74222500-1436976586_thumb.

As a total newbie on this forum, I'm overawed by the knowledge of it's members.

Mick

Mick,

If you subscribe to Find my Past then you will see him on a casualty form. Wounded 10th October 1917 while serving with D/114th Brigade.

The numbers on the MIC are reference and page numbers for the medal rolls.

Kevin

Welcome to the Forum, Mick,

101st Brigade was a Howitzer brigade. C battery left that brigade on July 21, 1916 and was re-designated D (H)/100 (i.e. D Howitzer battery of 100th Brigade), also in 22nd Division. On June 12, 1917 another transfer saw them become D (H)/114 in 26th Division. His wounding with D/114 in October 1917 confirms he was with the same battery through different designations.

His number of 71588 suggests enlistment and a posting to No. 6 Depot RFA, Glasgow around January 16, 1915. One of many New Army volunteers.