Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Hodge, pte Thomas Henry 13th Bn Kensington London Regt.

Grandson of a Soldier

Hi every body,

this is my first time on a forum like this, so please forgive any failing of etiquette!

My name is Jeremy hodge, my father's name was Alan Hodge who passed away last year, and we never spoke about his fathers time in the great war. He died in 1960 after being a warden in WW2 also.

He was born in 1900, and joined the war effort as soon as he could, we think in 1916-17. I have spent 2 years or more looking for records, but have come up with nothing.

I have pictures of him, wearing his uniform, and have traced from that that he was in the 13th County of London Kensington battalion I think. He lived near Lewisham.

I have a picture of him in what I think is France, and also have a battalion picture potentially including him in Caterham in November 1918. It states "Kensington's Signal Section, Caterham Nov. 1918.

I know it is sketchy without a service number, but any information would be great.

I have 4 or 5 family members who fought in the great war, 2 of which I have found, the rest are a mystery.

Thanks in anticipation.

Welcome.

If you have a picture of him in uniform and showing his cap badge or shoulder title you could post it in 'gallery' on your profile page. You have to have a minimum number of posts on the forum to put it in this thread.

Hi,

I finally worked out how to upload some pictures, so there are 3 in a gallery marked as "Thomas Henry Hodge", my grandfathers full name.

He was born in 1900 in SE London, Deptford/Catford/Greenwich area, son of George James & Elizabeth Hodge.

• Admin