Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

3 Scottish Horse

Sacha Maxwell

Hi

I am new to all this but I am researching my Great Grandfather who was Major David Maxwell He became Major, 3rd Scottish Horse, in 1914. Major Maxwell served in the European War, in the Dardanelles, 1915, and was mentioned in Despatches. He retired as Lieutenant Colonel from the Scottish Horse Yeomanry.

​I have a copy of his medal card from WW1 and the Boer War. He was brother of Francis Aylmer Maxwell VC.

Any help in where to start and things would be most appreciated. Likewise if there is anyone with an interest in the NW frontier wars of 1840s-1860 who could shed some light on Surg major Thomas Maxwell, father of DLM and FAM that would be most appreciated.

Thank you

Sacha

Hello Sacha, and welcome to the Forum!

3 Scottish Horse, a Yeomanry regiment (= cavalry of the Territorial Force) was formed just after the outbreak of war, and by Nov 1914 it had joined 1 and 2 Scottish Horse in the Scottish Horse Mounted Brigade. It remained at home and was attached to 63rd (2/Northumbrian) Division before joining 2 Mounted Division in Gallipoli by Nov 1915. I believe it only fought dismounted on the peninsula.

After the evacuation in Jan 1916 it went with the brigade to Egypt, where it formed part of 1st Dismounted Brigade. 3 Scottish Horse was absorbed into the Machine Gun Corps by Nov 1916.

For information on Surgeon-Major Thomas Maxwell I suggest that you try the Victorian Wars Forum.

Ron

Thank you Ron :-)

That would explain a few things - I was trying to work out how DLM managed to meet up with FAM who was on his way back from India in 1916 as Kitchiner's private secretary. I will have to go and dig out the reference again as to where the ship docked and where they met.

DLM was part of the ILH in the ABW. So guess that while DLM was back in Scotland buying cattle to send to Natal war was declared and he signed up again.