Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Great Uncle, 7th Battalion Cameronian Scottish Rifles

royan155

Hi , I'm a total novice in researching. My great uncle, James Royan, lost his life at Gallipoli in November 1915 at the Krithia Nullah. I know very little about James. I don't even have a photograph of him so I can only imagine what he looked like.

I have managed to get an excerpt from the war diary leading up to the date he was killed from the Cameronian museum in Hamilton, Lanarkshire. It took a long time for a reply to come back but were they pointed me gave more information than I had in the 50 years plus I've known about him.

This is the entry for November 15th 1915 that I found with the museums help.

1312 Pte. ROYAN James

James was killed in action on Friday 19th November 1915 by shellfire or bombing in the Nullah sector.

He was born in Hutchesontown, Glasgow, enlisted at Glasgow.

Pte. Royan is interred in –

REDOUBT CEMETERY, Helles, Turkey. Plot XI. Row A. Grave 5.

I also have the diary extract of the daily activities of the regiment.

Could anyone help me in finding out more information on my great uncle, websites etc. I would like to find out more about the battalions movements from Scotland to Gallipoli, which boat would have taken them etc. each web site I go to inevitably ask for money.

As I say, I'm a novice and just need direction,

The Glasgow Evening Times Roll of Honour via the Mitchell Library in Glasgow has, according to the spreadsheet on their website, a record and a photograph of your great uncle. This would have been printed within the newspaper on 23 December 1915.Their website is at http://www.glasgowfamilyhistory.org.uk/.

He is also recorded on the Glasgow Roll of Honour and he lived at 369 Mathieson Street. His name is also recorded in the Cameronians Roll of Honour.

Douglas