Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

War Diaries, Ireland during & after WW1?

clive_hughes

Most of the WW1 unit war diaries I see are concerned with the conflict in Europe and elsewhere overseas, and tend to cease in 1919.

Having been quizzed about Ireland today, can anyone tell me whether War Diaries exist for the units engaged in Ireland during WW1 (1916) and the immediately succeeding Troubles; and if so, in which NA category might they be located please?

Many thanks,

Clive

Clive,

I'm no expert but from other posts on the forum I recollect that as Ireland was a home posting no War Diaries were required - even during the Easter Rising or subsequent unrest.

I appreciate you may want quoted sources so hopefully an expert will be along shortly.

You may get a better response from the Ireland sub forum.

Regards

Steve

Morning Clive

My thinking, which of course may be wildly inaccurate, is that Ireland (at that time part of the United Kingdon of Great Britain and Ireland), was not a Theatre of War and so diaries were not appropriate.

I think the closest you will get to any form of diary is the "Record of the Rebellion in Ireland, 1920-1921" (National Archives). Major parts of this have been transcribed into books ('Fighting for Dublin', William Sheehan, 2007; and 'Hearts and Mines', William Sheehan, 2009). In these you will find detailed accounts both of the Dublin District campaign and the official record of the 5th Division in Ireland.

Lots of units kept war diaries while in the UK. Many of the 7th and 8th Div units kept records from the declaration while sailing back from South Africa, Aden and the concentration in England before going overseas. The 1/1st Derbyshire Yeomanry kept a war dairy covering every day in the UK for the nine months before going overseas.