Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Casualties at Beaumont Hamel - July 1st, 1916.

Guest aeq670

Hello!

I'm a student in Newfoundland doing a project on Beaumont Hamel. I found this website while doing some research and it's been quite helpful so far :)

I was wondering if you guys may be able to help me out a bit. You see, I am looking into casualties that occurred during the battle of Beaumont Hamel. I was wondering about the casualty rates for each of the following battalions:

16th Middlesex Regiment

1st Royal Dublin Fusiliers

2nd Royal Fusiliers

1st Worcestershire Regiment

2nd South Wales Borderers

1st Inniskilling Fusiliers

1st King's Own Scottish Borderers

2nd Hampshire

For each battalion, I would like to know how many soldiers went into battle that day, and how many became casualties. I found data for a few units (Royal Newfoundland Regiment was easy!) so far, but it's surprisingly hard to find information about the rest!

If anyone has any information about these regiments, I would greatly appreciate it! Anything helps :)

Thanks for your time

A

Casualty summaries taken from WO95/2280 29th Division Gen Staff HQ - there may be a revised version but this is good starting point.

JB

And here's the same for 4th Division - taken from WO95/1445 4th Division General Staff from July 1916 onwards.

post-16428-0-75546400-1424790260_thumb.j

post-16428-0-66559400-1424790376_thumb.j

Does that sugest that three officers "left out of Battle" still became casualties (23 officers took part in assault and there were 26 casualties)

Assuming a Battalion had around 25 or 26 officers on establishment , the Newfoundlanders had 100% officer casualties with seven of 29th Divs. Bn,suffering over 70% officer casualties..

• 2 months later...