Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1/4 Northamptonshire Regiment

Guest Becky21

I am researching my relative Pte Thomas FANTHOM who enlisted firstly in 1915 with the Warwickshire 1st Batt Regiment 13191 & sent to Egypt. I have evidence that Thomas was in Khartoum in August 1916 & sometime later transferred to 1/4 Batt Northamptonshire Regiment. I understand that this battalion formed part of the East Midlands Brigade in East Anglian Division & retitled as 162nd Brigade, 54th Division & served in Egypt & Palestine.

I have a death certificate which says Thomas 'died of wounds' in Egypt on 25 November 1917 which doesn't really tell me anything. He is buried at Alexandria (Hadra) War Memorial Cemetery. I have his medal card which shows he first entered a theatre of war on 20 August 1915 in Egypt.

I am a novice at this & really get confused with Battalions, Garrisons, Divisions etc.

It is probably a big ask but would I be able to find when Thomas was wounded & what battle he was in at the time of his death. I have searched local papers but found nothing. I have also looked on Long Trails & it is a possibility he could have served in the battles of Gaza but not knowing when he was wounded it is very difficult to know for certain.

My other question is if Thomas had died in hospital, would that have been stated on his death certificate.

Any info. however small would be gratefully appreciated.

The 1/4th Battalion of the Northamptonshire Regiment only really took casualties on two days during late 1917 - on 2nd November 1917 at the 3rd Battle of Gaza and at a former German colony named Wilhelma on 27th November 1917. Thomas Fanthom's death before the later battle makes it very, very likely that the date of wounding would have been 2 November 1917 at Gaza. Casualties from the battle do seem to have been taken to Alexandria for treatment.