Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Reginald Ernest Webster 29984

JonathanW

Hello:

I am in the initial stages of researching the life of my great grandfather. I am very new at this so, I apologize in advance if I am in the wrong forum, but it seems like a good place to start.

Reginald Ernest Webster ( Pvt. 29984) "died of wounds" on September 3, 1916. He was originally with The Oxford & Bucks L.I ( 22962), but died as a member of the 2nd Battalion of the Royal Warwickshire Regiment. His name is engraved on the Thiepval Memorial

This is what I would really like to know:

1) Am I right in guessing the O&B amalgamated with the Royal Warwickshire?

2) I found that the Battle of Guillemont started on this date. Is it likely this is where he fell? Any way to confirm?

3) Did they photograph each soldier?

4) Any other service records avaliable?

Any informaton or direction you could provide would be greatly appreciated,

Jonathan Webster

Vancouver, Canada

1) Am I right in guessing the O&B amalgamated with the Royal Warwickshire?

He was transferred from the 2nd Ox & Bucks.

3) Did they photograph each soldier?

Not as a matter of course, unfortunately.

Craig

Originally Ox and Bucks, then the Royal Warwicks probably due to his original regiment being decimated and the survivors posted where they were needed, or he had been wounded and then sent where needed most and not to his original posting. The Ox and Bucks did not amalgamate with the Warwicks.

SDGW shows

Name: Reginald Ernest Webster
Birth Place: Cowley, St. John's, Oxford
Death Date: 3 Sep 1916
Death Place: France and Flanders
Enlistment Place: Oxford
Regiment: Royal Warwickshire Regiment
Battalion: 2nd Battalion
Regimental Number: 29984
Type of Casualty: Died of wounds
Theatre of War: Western European Theatre
Comments: Formerly 22962, Oxford and Bucks L.I.

Craig

Jonathan