Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Unidentified Regiment - HELP!

Guest Ian Bowbrick

Gosh, Ian, I tried to download and zoom in, but the resolution I get is not crisp.

Does it look like my avatar, 41st Canadien Francais ?? :ph34r:

Peter

i have tried to enhance it and it looks a bit clearer but not much

post-1-1052171811.jpg

well i have a clue ....I think its allied!!!!!...now ive helped you its upto someone else...

Ian, when you look at his uniform, can you tell immediately whether it is British Army or Canadian/other? I am new to this and his uniform looks like it could be Cdn to me, but are there any tell-tale signs for a newcomer to watch out for? :blink:

• 3 weeks later...

The uniform is British. Canadian jackets had 7 buttons up to 1917 when Canada officially adopted the 5 button pattern for manfacture. Wartime Canadian manufactured 5 button jackets, which are extremely rare, have all small buttons (40 line) instead of the British 60 line. Those are 60 line buttons down the front.

However, the CEF became almost totally dependent on British uniform supply in later part of the war. So Canadians, especially those in France, were almost 100% British equipped. Canadian uniforms rarely made it out of the replacement units in England. So an even more valid question would be do you think it is a Canadian or British soldier?

I believe it to be a British soldier. First indication is that the wear of collar brass was almost universal with the Canadians and almost never worn by the British on the Service Dress jacket.

As for the cap badge?

Joe

Guest Ian Bowbrick

Thanks everyone - the mystery continues. I have read through several books on cap badges but to no avail.

<_<

Ian

To me it looks to be a prancing pony or gazelle but as to the unit I have no idea.

John.