Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Ayr & Lanark Yeomanry

neil black

Hi.

Ihave been researching my grandfather who was a T/F soldier of the above yeomanry ,a coal miner by trade in tarbolton Ayrshire.

(1) Thier first action was with yhe 52 Lowland Div (Gallipoli.

(2)Then with the 74th Yeomanry Egypt/Palistine.

(3) Finally with 31st Div France/Flanders .

If there are any photographs outthere (groups) wth names of who is in them would be appreciated.

its a long shot i know but would appreciate any help or direction or help where i might find any.

N Black.

Hi Neil,

Could you give us your grandfather's name,please?

Cheers,

Chris.

Hi Chris,

My grandfather was Robert Macfarlane, born in 1884 in Tarbolton, Ayrshire.

The details on his marriage certificate in 1918 were Private, 12th Royal Scots Fusiliers. I don't have his MIC document or his Army Service No.

Thanks for your interest, Neil.

There is a Robert McFarlane on the medal rolls - serving with the 1/1st Lanarkshire Yeomanry (2204) and then with the 12th RSF (295885). He disembarked at Gallipoli on 11th October 1915, and was demobbed on 22nd January 1919. Sound like your man?

Barrie

I had come across this chap in the Lanarkshire Yeomanry as well(in the Yeoman magazine - he seems to have been a talented footballer),but assumed that as Neil's grandfather came from Tarbolton,he would have been in the Ayrshire Yeomanry.

However,I found a Private Robert McFarlane,Royal Scots Fusiliers,on a Medal Card index with the number 18154.I might be wrong,but I don't think that that number would be given to someone who had come from the Ayrshire (or Lanarkshire) Yeomanry.Having a look at the Card might give a bit more information on his Service details,I would think.

Regards,

Chris.

Hi Chris