Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Who is this officer ? WW1 and 1953 Coronation?

sturgis

Hi All

I have these portraits and would like to find out who this officer is ?

Pre MBE Artillery and Coronation Gold Staff Officer in the West Riding Regt. I have studied and I think its the same man ?

Any help appreciated.
Rich

20140714_202150_resized_zps4b1d5977.jpg20140715_2013vsv01_resized_zpsc65e3e33.j

I don't think it is the same man. If you are saying the pic on the left was taken ww1 then he does not appear to have age in around 35yrs. Also his left earlobe in the pic on the left looks bigger which usually occurs with age.

Deffo the same man unless he had a twin. The left photo is 1953 Gold Staff Officer in the West Riding Regt at the coronation. I am assuming the arty uniform is pre WW2 as no WW2 medals in 1953 ! The MC for WW1 ? and the MBE late 40's early 50's ?

Richard

Neither look WW1. Not being a medal expert I am not so sure the ribbons worn relate to WW1

Medals are, MBE, Military Cross, 1914 star and bar, BWM, Victory with MID emblem, 1937 coronation. Campaign and MC deffo WW1 with MBE i would guess post WW2.

Not saying either pic is WW1. Just that he has WW1 service.

The ribbon bar shown in the photo on the right appears to match the medals being worn in the photo on the left, which look to be from left to right Military Cross, WW1 Trio and the 1935 KGV Jubilee medal.

In the photograph on the left, the medals being worn are the OBE ( Order of the British Empire ), the Military Cross, the WW1 Trio, and the KGV 1935 Jubilee medal.

Perhaps his OBE is QE2.

With the ribbon bar containing the 1935 Jubilee Medal, that dates the photographs after 1935.

LF

I know the pic is black and white but the tone of the civil award looks silver, same as the MC, so I would say its a civil MBE (guilt for an OBE) and it has to be pre 1953 coronation so George VI issue.