Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Where was this photo taken? any suggestions

amanda.oconnor1

Can anyone help me This photo was in my granddads wallet. I know he was shot and wounded during the great war but I do not know where or when. All I know is the photo was taken by Lovell Smith Richmond.

He carried the photo with him until his dying day in 1972

As a nurse I love the photo and would love to share it with others but do not now how

Mandy

post-119504-0-44459000-1420653564_thumb.

There seem to have been three military hospitals in Richmond, two for British Army soldiers and one for soldiers of the South African forces.

1. Richmond Military Hospital - Grove Road, Richmond TW10 6LF.

2. Richmond Red Cross Hospital - Old Friars, The Green, Richmond TW9 1NH.

3. South African Military Hospital - Richmond Park, Richmond TW10 6JQ.

Given the limited number of staff shown and the prominent red crosses on the VAD uniform, it seems more likely that your photo shows the middle of the three, which was a smaller establishment (100 beds from late 1915), although that is pure conjecture.

There is an excellent website with a list of hospitals and each entry is a clickable link to the individual details of the hospital concerned, here: http://ezitis.myzen.co.uk/briefhistoryauxhosps.html

Forum Member, Sue Light, is an expert in this area and might be able to make a more positive identification.

There are some details here too: http://richmondww1.wordpress.com/2014/11/05/6-november-1914/

post-599-0-04211200-1420657307_thumb.jpg