Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Medals of David M Brown RE Inland Water and Transport

dgibson150

I have just discovered that my grandfather, Sergeant D M Brown was eligible for service and victory medals. Nobody in the surviving family knows about them. Can I assume that, if there are no remarks or indication of return on the Mic and the Medal Rolls, the medals were issued and they are either lost, stolen or we (the family) have them somewhere, but haven't found them yet?

David.

• Admin

I think that's a fair assumption.

Although both my grandfathers served I've no idea what happened to their medals, or any other close family member. You can try posting on the British Medals Forum but it's a bit of a longshot as millions were issued. Replicas are available but I've no knowledge as to quality although it has been mentioned by some of the collectors on this forum.

Ken

Quite a few men threw away their medals in disgust, so perhaps that may have ed happened in this case.

Other ranks did not have to claim their medals: they were sent to them at the last known address in the Army's records. If neither the medal roll nor the MIC mentions their return, it is a fair assumption that they were delivered.

Ron

My late aunt was sure that her father's, my grandfather's medals were somewhere in the family house and had promised them to me. They weren't there. Unfortunately that branch of the family was notorious for throwing stuff away. I suspect that some time in the distant future they will turn up in an excavation of a landfill site.

Very sad.

R.

Many thanks for the speedy feedback.

There is a chance that they are at my mother's. She is 94 now so it is possible that she has completely forgotten about them.

David

• 2 years later...

I have since this post found my grandfather's service and victory medals, at my mothers. Also unexpectedly a Mercantile Marine War Medal.