Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

20 Squadron RFC January- April 1916

Bennett

Would greatly appreciate if someone could provide details on location of 20 Squadron (FE2bs) in these months and any action details March 15-20, 1916. Thanks very much Ralph

Hi Ralph,

20 Squadron was located at Clairmarais in March 1916, which is a few miles SW of Ypres.

Not a lot of action 15-20 March 1916: I have been researching 20 Squadron for several years for a book, and all I have on these dates is one fight. This came 18th March when a "formation of five F.E.'s was carrying out a reconnaissance over Tourcoing. Six Fokker monoplanes and four two-seaters took up station above and behind the Fees, but held off from attacking immediately; while for their part the British formation also “kept their powder dry”, since their primary mission was a successful reconnaissance and any unnecessary air fighting might jeopardise its success. The Germans, however, were merely awaiting their chance; and it came as the British crews concentrated on a formation turn over Courtrai. Two Fokkers swept down on McNaughton’s machine, ‘A6332’, and the British pilot immediately fired off a red flare and turned his machine to fly straight at the nearest enemy, while his gunner, 2/A.M. Talbot, opened fire and forced it to swerve away. Having seen the flare, the other ‘Fees’ also turned to the attack, and the Germans now backed off until the formation was over Menin before attacking again as the F.E.'s followed the road from Menin to Gheluvelt and the British lines. Captain James and his Mancunian gunner Cpl James Stringer, flying ‘A5206’ had just sent one Fokker down with smoke streaming from its engine when they noticed ‘A6328’ very low down gliding towards the lines, closely pursued by a Fokker. They and another F.E. immediately dived to the rescue, and after driving the German away climbed back up to rejoin the formation; but there was nothing more they could