Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Fortunate to have known them

Khaki

Sitting here by myself in my armchair with a blanket over me (its cold), my mind wandered to the Great War veterans that I knew as friends or family and it dawned on me that with the passing of the last veterans world wide that it also gave birth to a generation who could never say that they met one. It's not that knowing them was a life changing event, they were just senior citizens as I am now, perhaps a few anecdotal stories came my way and the odd souvenir given to me but there is a 'warmth' in a memory that is also a link to those great events of those yesterdays.

old and cold

khaki

Several decades ago when I was a Student Nurse, our hospital had several trainee doctors from Germany who were improving their English as well as learning their profession. Being junior they had the task of admitting new patients, and taking the working notes for their dept. I remember with great fondness the opening exchange between one young doctor and an elderly gentleman who I just finished taking ward notes from. The exchange went as follows "Ah good afternoon, I am Doctor Schmidt, now tell have you ever been in hospital before?" "Yes Doctor, 1916, you Bu**ers did it!"

A fine generation sadly gone.

G

I had the great good fortune to be with Arthur Halestrap when he visited Talbot House. My abiding memory is the twinkle in his eye as he insisted that all the ladies give him the customary continental cheek kisses. At Talbot House, he was introduced to a really stunning Belgian TV lady. After the kisses , he caught my eye and we exchanged blokey confirmations of our mutual appreciation in the time honoured manner. He was a lovely feller.