Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

15th Hussars

ianw

I have the regimental history for this unit which also gives a lot of pointers re. the 19th Hussars who were brigaded with the 15th.

• 4 months later...
Guest monkdown

Dear ianw

I have the medals to 4022 Pte. W.H. Roberts 15/ Hussars, 1914 Star with Bar Trio,

but have not been able to glean much information about him. except that he was in A Squadron. If you could add any details or point me in the right direction for avenues of research I would be exstremely grateful.

Thanks

John

John,

As you may suspect Private Roberts is not mentioned in the History as far as I can see but this book has now bee reprinted at reasonable cost and you may want it so that you can follow "A" Squadron's movements.

Obviously Kew may yield his record.

Regards Ian

• 6 years later...

Hi there,

I am very new to all of this.But I have my great uncles medals he was in the 15th/19th Hussars Served in South Africa then from what I can make out was one of the first to go to Europe.He has the 1914 star with clasp for nov fighting I believe.Can you tell me where the regimental history you have comes from.As I would like to know where he fought etc.He was the only one who survived ww1 all other brothers etc died.

My email is:r_nichols@hotmail.co.uk if this helps further.But any information you can give would be much appreciated.

Many regards

bob

[quote name='ianw' date='May 4 2003, 09:08 AM' post='15288

I have the regimental history for this unit which also gives a lot of pointers re. the 19th Hussars who were brigaded with the 15th.

Bob,

Before and during WW1, the 15th Hussars and 19th Hussars were completely separate regiments, although they were brigaded together so were often in the same vicinity.

The amalgamated after the war to become the 15th/19th Hussars.