Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Royal Garrison Artillery Unit - Help, Please!

davem43624

I'm new to the Great War Forum, and I desperately need some help from the experts.

I'm trying to trace my maternal grandfather's military career. He seems to have been a career soldier in the Royal Garrison Artillery. At one time I had his lapel badge, which was RHA, but my sister has his medals and assures me that he was RGA. His regimental numbers were 34182 and 1406045

His name was Ernest Robins, and he was born on 22 Jan 1887 in Henley on Thames, Oxfordshire.

I think I have him in the 1911 census, at Newhaven Fort (no. 1 Depot) , but searches of various newspaper archives have not turned up any mentions of him, either good or bad.

I don't have his WW1 attestation - one of the many records that actually did burn, I suppose. I do have his medal card, and several reords from the NW Frontier. He has the 1914/15 Star, the British War Medal and the Victory Medal. Grandad's first campaign medal was the India General Service Medal 1908 with clasp "Afghanistan NWF 1919", followed by the clasps for "Waziristan 1919-21" and "Mahsud 1919 - 1920". The documentation for these medals show that the ubit was to be given as "RGA", whicch is not helpful! The medal card gives his 1st theatre of war as "5g", which I believe means India.

He was home for a spell: he got married in Tooting in Aug 1922, to Connie Powell, aand his eldest daughter was born in the UK (Tooting) in August 1924. At that time, he was wearing a sergeant's stripes in a photo of the three of them.

The only indication of a unit comes on my mother's birth certificate: she was born in the Families Hospital in Khanspur on 16 Jun 1927. Grandad is in 3rd Light Battery, based nearby at what I think reads "Bava Gali", but is more likely "Kuzagali", which actually exists (Google Maps!). The battery C.O. is Major A. Burrows.