Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

To clean or not to clean

SPotter

Pals,

No - this is not another "should I polish my medals" question, but a dilema as to whether to accept my wife's offer of an ultra-sound bath for my birthday, as a method of cleaning my medal collection. Has any one got one, or used one? If so, what were the results?

Thanks

Steve

No idea what an ultrasonic bath would do to medals but I use one routinely to clean my instruments (I'm a dentist) and iot works extremely well to remove debris, stain etc. My wife also likes her jewellery cleaned in it as well- works a treat.

As a caution I don't clean any plated metal instruments such as mirrors or some otehrs with a plating as it seems possible it will strip it off with repeat use. Anything cast or forged doesn't seem to have a problem.

Hope that helps

Tony

Nothing wrong with an ultrasonic cleaner but you might find that it only removes dirt and you wil end up with a clean but still tarnished medal. |I found it effective for removing old brasso from badges etc, problem with that is that they then lose a bit of that 'feel' and can't shift them because everyone thinks they are repro.

Its unlikely that a medal will get 'dirty' in the same way that jewellery would.

Theres plenty of advice and opinion on here about cleaning so won't bore you with my views. oh ok i will...nothing wrong with silver dip.

Mick

Thanks Guys,

I think that I shall be looking for an alternative present then. Most of my medals just need a light polish rather than a full-blown clean, so sounds like the ultrasonic bath is not required, just a soft brush and lashings of brasso........joking, joking !!

Not !!

Steve

the brillo and caustic soda works every time.

Mick

the brillo and caustic soda works every time.

Mick

Anything acidic however mild, will remove metal. Likewise anything abrasive will do the same. Eventually you will end up with very clean and shiny flat discs !