Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help with Service record card info

Nick Smith

Hi, as a complete novice the attached service card doesn't mean a lot to me, I know once before when I posted something similar I got replies that contained considerably more information than looked possible from so little raw data, so I am hoping some kind person may be able to fill in details that look a little cryptic to me to say the least.

The record is of a Lance Corporal William B [bernard] Devery [1886-1954 born in Cork, Ireland] who served with the ASC (last known record from 1911 census was that he was a 'rough rider' in the 48 Company ASC based at South Hill barracks Chatham.

There is a family tale that he was called back from service (on his way to India??) when his wife died in childbirth in 1919. I don't know if this is possible or likely and whether any record of this would be made.

Thanks to anyone who has taken the time to read this and respond.

Nick

post-86482-0-30404300-1409473239_thumb.j

Wow! He looks to be among the very first to have arrived in France on 6th August, just 2 days after War had been declared.

You'll see his rank as a Driver in the ASC, with whom he was awarded the 1914 Star and the clasp and rosette emblem for the medal strip when not wearing the actual medals.

He would have been attached to the HQ of the 3rd Infantry Brigade.

He later transferred to the Royal Engineers, the WR prefix denoting he was involved with Waterways or Railways, maybe a clue in his civilian employment?

Ah! 1911 census shows a William Devery, 28 and married (into the Pinder family?) as a motor lorry driver, brother Hurburt (Herbert) at Stayley Road, Mossley, Burnley.

Is that him?

If so, he shows up as a very naughty boy in the 1901 Census, but he obviously learnt his lesson and made good of himself.

Herbert Leo went into the Navy and died in 1970 in Grimsby, so he stayed close to the sea.