Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

John Saunders

brian whitehouse

I am trying to trace my grandfather - John Saunders - who served with 1/5 battalion South Staffs Regiment in WW1

His regimental number was 8808

He was born in Walsall in 1881 and joined up in August 1914 and survived the war

Any help would be greatly appreciated

I got the number from a document showing various items - I'm quite new to this I have to say - it also gives his Labour Corps number 567197 and some other information

Date of entry into France 05.03.1914 plus numbers relating to victory, British and 15 Star

Can you be more specific where your info is from? No point others telling you things you already know.

I think this is his medals card

The page on which it is shown shows 6 names and their medal records and it says Catalogue reference WO/372/17

Be careful with the service record linked in previous post as they refer to other Saunders as well.

I have looked for Him where you suggested but cannot find - perhaps I'm being dense - the 8808 regimental number for one Saunders is definitely not him

I really appreciate your advice on this matter.

my main reason for this search is that my mother had the middle name Zillebeke and this was given to her by her mother when she was born on Sept 4th 1915.

The name was chosen because my granddad was reported missing shortly before my mother was born and Zillebeke was named in the message of his disappearance

• Admin

Brian

johnboy has a tendency to ask questions without reading other people's posts. so I'd go with BFBSM's link to his servicerecords.

Glen

many thanks for the advice

Who has the war diaries for the 1/5 S.Staffs because I'd love to find out why Zillebeke is in my mothers name

Brian

Hi Mark

I went back to the records on ancestry and It certainly IS my grandfather. Thanks but I cannot understand the name of 'Albert'

He actually signs as John E Saunders