Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1 DCLI Cuinchy Brickstacks Feb 1917

Lewisroberts

Dear All,

I am currently researching my Great Uncle's service history and have finally confirmed the location of his grave. He died of wounds on 6/02/1917 after a trench raid in the following area (from the 1 DCLI war diary):

Cuinchy right sub sector

A22 aoc 15
A21 d9 8
Trench map 36c nw1 1/10000
Does anyone know about this area, the action and how I can locate this area today?
Many Thanks,
Lewis

Try this:

Great War British Trench MapCoordinates Converter

Put in 36c.nw1. into the box and it will give you the "centroid of the grid location": 50.4558, 2.9607.

Put these coordinates into Google Maps (without the final dot) and you should find the spot.

I'm fairly new to this but I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm wrong!

Mike

With acknowledgements to skipman for his recent coordinates post

Dear All,

I am currently researching my Great Uncle's service history and have finally confirmed the location of his grave. He died of wounds on 6/02/1917 after a trench raid in the following area (from the 1 DCLI war diary):

Cuinchy right sub sector

A22 aoc 15
A21 d9 8
Trench map 36c nw1 1/10000
Does anyone know about this area, the action and how I can locate this area today?
Many Thanks,
Lewis