Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

PRINCESS MARY TIN & PENCIL - URGENT!

smitten

Help!

You may have seen the discovery of 80+ mint/unopened tins in the national press and I'm thinking of buying one but at a hefty premium of £300 so want to be sure they are genuine.

Apparently the 'silver' bullet element is not marked Sterling Silver although I know some were nickel/plated, but more worringly the cartridge has no monogram or crown on it so should I steer clear please? Just because it's been featured in the Daily Mail doesn't make it true!

Hopefully somebody can shed some light on this before I part with my hard earned cash.

Kind Regards

Colin.

Just to add that has anyone else been similarly tempted by this oportunity of a life time or, as I'm no expert, is the consensus of opinion that this discovery is a little too opportune and best steered clear of?

Some expert advice is much needed here please.

Kind Regards

Colin.

I saw them at The Chalke Valley history event.They were opened in front of the audience.It is just the tin with the pencil and it's retaining card.No other contents in there.It struck me as a bit steep .

£300 quid for the tin and pencil, steep indeed, especially if the pencil is unmarked. Wouldn't be for me.

Don't see the attraction to these tins now the (whole) package has been opened and at £300 these tins are only going to loose value IMHO

Far too expensive - and I had read some time ago that things like this (in mint condition) might raise their heads for sale during the centenary which just seems a bit suspicious to me. It beggars belief that such a tin would remain unopened for such a long time. Surely the families of the men who eventually received these tins would have wanted to look inside. I'm afraid I would invest (squander) my money elsewhere.

Anne

Well said Anne,it seems to be a scam

Gerry