Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Searching for John W? Innocent R.E. 558145

wbab06

Newbie here. Looking for any info on John W? Innocent. I have found his enlistment form or actually, what remains of it, due to the fire? His initial service number
on that form is 1573, Royal Engineers, his address on the form is 46 Roberts Rd., Walthamstow. I have also found his medal card which has the same service number and a re-number of 558145. His rank is SPR which I assume is Sapper. The theatre of war is #3, Egypt as of March 1915. On LLT I found the renumbering would have him in the 1/1 London Divisional Signals COY, which was a territorial unit, which is also a heading on the enlistment form. I have found that that unit became the signals coy of the 29th Division which indicates service at Gallipoli. Evidently he survived as the medal card seems to indicate, from what I've read, a status of reserves, 'Z' as of July of 1917. Any other info would be greatly appreciated as I have been unable to find anything further on Ancestry or Find My Past. Best Regards and Thanks in advance. Great Forum!

Hi wbab06

Welcome to the Forum.

John Innocent.

Born 1884. Attested 27th November 1914, Bethnal Green. 1st London Division T.F. Royal Engineers Number 1573.

Embarked Southampton for Egypt. 30 March 1915 transferred to 1st London Division Signals Coy, Number 558175.

Appointed Lance Corporal 27th November 1918.

Transferred to Class Z Army Reserve 27th June 1919.

Occupation, Cabinet Maker. Next of kin wife Maud, married 23rd December 1900.

Address at demob, 67, Diana Road, Walthamstow, E17.

M.I.C. Victory, British, and 1915 Star.

Hope this is of help.

Regards

Tony

Hello Tony,