Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Albert John Pope Canadian army.

stevej60

Could someone tell me what records are kept regarding Canadian army servicemen,my GT.Grandfather Albert pope a native of Millom in Cumbria

was in America during the war,I have copies of his attestation papers it seems he crossed the border and signed up in Victoria in September 1917 and

joined the Canadian engineer corps(he was a miner by trade) It seems like most returning soldiers he did not talk about his experiences and We know

nothing about his service although there is a belief he was gassed at some stage but he was still in Canada as late as November 1917.after the war he

moved the family to Chester-le-street in Durham.Thanks Steve Smith.

The full service records are being digitized and from what I understand this should be done sometime in 2015. The databse was recently moved and the following is the new link to his attestation papers; when his file has been digitized there will be a box above his name with a link to the pdf file.

http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=579036

The War Diaries for the Royal Canadian Engineers can be found at www.canadiangreatwarproject.com/warDiaryLac/wdLacP15.asp

Andrewr

The full service records are being digitized and from what I understand this should be done sometime in 2015. The databse was recently moved and the following is the new link to his attestation papers; when his file has been digitized there will be a box above his name with a link to the pdf file.

http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=579036

Many thanks for the information Ken,I will look forward to the records being completed.

The War Diaries for the Royal Canadian Engineers can be found at www.canadiangreatwarproject.com/warDiaryLac/wdLacP15.asp