Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Dardanelles

blackburnian

Can anyone tell me if any Lancashire Regiment(s) served at the Dardanelles? I believe my great Uncle saw action there, but unfortunately I have no knowledge of his Regiment.

Regards

Blackburnian

Straight off the top of my head they called one of the Gallipoli beaches Lancashire Landing so your answer is Yes ! I will do a look round and come back.

Here's a bit of DIY instead !

http://www.1914-1918.net/Gallipoli.htm

Click on each Division and scroll down the units to find them all.

6th East Lancs, 6th South Lancs, 6th Loyal North Lancs and 6th King's Own were part of 38 Infantry Brigade, there from July 1915 to January 1916.

And 42 (East Lancs) Div were there too. I believe there were more units from Lancashire on Gallipoli than there were from Australia.

Ron

Can anyone tell me if any Lancashire Regiment(s) served at the Dardanelles? I believe my great Uncle saw action there, but unfortunately I have no knowledge of his Regiment.

Regards

Blackburnian

If you could post his full name and any details which you have regarding his war service, then it may be possible to find out from the Medal Index Cards which unit he served with at Gallipoli.

I assume that he came from Blackburn? If so, I believe that the 4th Bn East Lancashire Regiment is the most likely because they were based in Blackburn and recruited locally. Of course this is only supposition on my part as he could quite easily have served in any one of a number of other battalions/regiments.

Robert

The full list of 25 Lancashire units that served at Gallipoli is below.

1st Bn Lancashire Fusiliers..................................................86th Inf Bde, 29th Div

1/5th Lancashire Fusiliers (TF)............................................125th Inf Bde 42nd (East Lancs) Div (TF)

1/6th Lancashire Fusiliers (TF)............................................125th Inf Bde 42nd (East Lancs) Div (TF)