Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Zero hour the term origins ?

Guest Abster

Dear Ladies and Gents

Does anyone know when the term 'zero hour' was first used in the war, or was it simply because it followed x-day or y-day ? Any info? I am a novice writer seeking background on this term, due to the awful consequences of reaching it .... I am hoping my characters can blame its use on some office wallah.... which is probably the case...

many thanks

If it wasn't Zero it would have been called something else and meant the same thing. I can't see why you would want to blame someone for its use.

I had always assumed that it's to do with the countdown to an event such as an attack.. As in '5 hours to go'; 4 hours to go'; 3 hours to go'; etc. Then, eventually, '0 hours to go' i.e. zero hour.

" Would it not simply have been .....5 days, 4 days, 3 days, 2 days, 1 day, 0 days? "

Would it not simply have been .....5 hours, 4 hours, 3 hours, 2 hours, 1 hours, 0 hour ...I meant :whistle:

Mike

Once Zero hour was known, maybe days before an attack was to be made the day and time of that attack could be safely used in messages using zero hour -. A message saying for instance ' Zero hour -3 men will draw rations.' could be given on any day without having to give the date,

• Admin

Once Zero hour was known, maybe days before an attack was to be made the day and time of that attack could be safely used in messages using zero hour -. A message saying for instance ' Zero hour -3 men will draw rations.' could be given on any day without having to give the date,

Also very useful if the attack was delayed for any reason such as 1 July 1916 originally being planned for 29 June. No need to re-issue orders.

And so that all the paperwork did not have to be reissued in the event of a delay in an operation eg D Day