Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

MIC

Guest ERAK

Like many people I am new to Military Historyand If someonehas already asaked this I am sorry but I did browse the topics first.

I have down loaded my Grandad Medal card and find that I don't fully understand

He served in the Manchester regiment as a Private and the Machine Gun Corp as a Lance Corporal. Excuse the ignorance but is this still part of the Manchester or a separate Regiment?

The card states that first Theatre of war was 2, B. Would that be Gallipoli. He joined 22/08/15

All the medals appear to have MGC against the entries. Is this because heended in the MGC?

Hi Erak,

Welcome to the forum, as far as your question goes I think that he must have joined eithe Manchester Regiment and then transfered to the MGC and he did not qualify for any medals until he was in the MGC and as far as my understanding goes (I AM NOT AN EXPERT) what regiment you where with when you qualified for a medal is what appeared on the medal itself.

Regards

Steve Chilton

PS - as far as theatre of war is concerned I dont know althoug I know it is on this forum somehwere and I am sure that someone will tell you.

Guest Ian Bowbrick
Hi Erak,

Welcome to the forum, as far as your question goes I think that he must have joined eithe Manchester Regiment and then transfered to the MGC and he did not qualify for any medals until he was in the MGC and as far as my understanding goes (I AM NOT AN EXPERT) what regiment you where with when you qualified for a medal is what appeared on the medal itself.

Regards

Steve Chilton

PS - as far as theatre of war is concerned I dont know althoug I know it is on this forum somehwere and I am sure that someone will tell you.

Alas not.