Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

127 Bty

Dako

Hi everyone. :mellow:

I'm trying to find out more about my Grandad in the Great War . I'm a complete novice and getting all confuddled with my batteries, batallions, brigades etc.

Grandad had a Silver War Badge with 127 Bty (T) RFA on the back. He was admitted to 83 Gen Hosp, Boulogne on 2nd Sept 1918 with severe gunshot wounds to the face resulting in discharge from duty on 7th Nov 1918.

My Mum remembers he said he was injured at Arras. So, by Long, Long Trailing and Googling etc I think he was probably wounded at the Battle of the Drocourt - Queant Line, 2-3 Sept.1918.

I've read somewhere that 127 Bty joined with others to become 29th Brigade and they were under 4th Division command. First Army 4th Division is listed at the battle. Am I hopefully on the right track?

Many thanks

Marga

Marga

Welcome to the Forum !

Yes,127 Battery were part of 29 Brigade RFA,whose War Diary is digital and can be downloaded for £3.36 from the Discovery database at the National Archives,reference WO95/1466/5 and covering from Aug 1914 through to war's end. Here you can read of the daily activity of the Brigade as a whole,there were three Batteries and sometimes the Battery has it's own segment of Diary but all are merged into the one file at the end. Worth a read to get the story.

http://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/SearchUI/Details?uri=C7352123

It might be worth posting his name and number as you never know who knows what here !

Hello Sotonmate, thankyou for the welcome and thankyou so very much for your valued information. It's more than appreciated. :-)