Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

New to this site- a complete novice in finding relevant information

Janice 21

Im new to this researching and looking for information - but I decided I wanted to try and find out more about my great uncle - Ive been to see his grave in Ypres but dont really know anything about how he died or any history of what he did in the war. I did find the original photo of his grave that was sent to my great auntie, but there seems to be no other details held in the family and we dont even have any photos of him. I found an article in a paper giving some websites and a few hints of how to get info but on some sites its difficult to even get started.

One of the pieces of advice was to 'google' the relatives name and see if anyone else had already done any research as it sometimes gave you quite a lot of information - I did this & to my surprise there was my great uncles name on your forum posted on 2/7/2008 by Ken Lees. The info he wrote and the questions he raised intrigued me and I wondered if there was any other information available particularly as to how he died and where.

I was also shocked to find out that he was on a memorial at Liverpool town hall as I dont believe its something that my family know about & although I now live in Kent, I still have family in Liverpool & I still visit it quite regularly so its certainly something I will go and see on my next visit.

Hello and welcome.

Just in case Ken can't remember the specific details, could you post the Name, and perhaps the thread title?

We might be able to share the burden!

Hello Janice,

I was researching your relative as part of my interest in the 9th Battalion of the King's Liverpool Regiment. I have some more information, including a photograph of him, which I will be happy to provide a copy of.