Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Service Records.

larneman

Hello one and all,

This question may have been asked before but as a newbie I hope you will answer it again.

What records are at the PRO, Kew Gardens and which are not. I thought those up to pre-1920 are at the Kew and post 1920 somewhere else. During my websearch I came across this at http://www.gaia.edu/genclass/208/gen208_9.htm

""Military records are potentially of great genealogical value but they are difficult to use because few are indexed and some are unavailable outside of the Public Record Office. There are not many available at the FHC.

Individual military units (army regiment or navy ship) kept records on individuals. Pre-1914 records are at the Public Record Office, Kew. Post-1914 army records are at:

Army Records Centre

Bourne Avenue

Hayes, Middlesex UB3 1RF

Post - 1914 Navy records are at:

Ministry of Defense

Main Building, Whitehall SW1A 2 HB""

If I want to research servicemen from that joined befor WW1 and during WW1, is it the PRO or is it Army Record Center?

Lastly during WW2 burnt, watersoaked, damaged WW1 records are keep where and is anything being done to reclaim them??

greetings from Hoogwoud,

Liam

Liam

The information you have there is incorrect.

The records for men in the army up to 1921 (?) are at the PRO(now the NA). The records of those who stayed in the forces after that date or joined later are with the army and are not generally accessable except to relatives.

The WW1 'other ranks' army records were mainly destroyed by bombing in WW2 but about 25% of these survived - often in a burnt/damaged condition. These have been microfilmed and the films are available at the PRO/NA. You cannot see the originals. Most officer army records have survived as they were not involved in the bombing incident and they are also at the PRO.

Liam

researching a soldier