Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

1st Battalion Royal Scots

SilverFox100

I have the War Diary for the above from Aug 1914 to May 1919, covering all their time in the Great War. Let me know if you need help. Mike

• 2 years later...

Hi Chris

Thanks for taking the time to respond. I am confused as his Grave Registration gives the regiment he was in when he died, which was the Royal Warwickshire 2 8th Bat. But also previous ones Royal Scots and R.W. Fus. http://www.cwgc.org/find-war-dead/casualty/73747/WHITE,%20LAWRENCE

Am I misunderstanding what is written down? I am new to this and finding it confusing! Thanks for any help.

Regiment: Royal Warwickshire Regiment Battalion: 2 8th Battalion Regimental Number: 5646 Type of Casualty: Died of wounds Theatre of War: Western European Theatre Comments: Formerly 992, R. Scots

Hi M3vert

You've asked the same question on two threads: I have added the following contribution to your other thread:

"Looking at the his grave registration documents, one document (the handwritten one) says that he was serving with 1st Battalion Royal Warwickshire Regiment when he died, the other (the printed one and the one that my instinct tells me you should trust) ,that he was serving with 2/8th Battalion Royal Warwickshire Reg. You'll have to work out which, perhaps by finding which battalion was fighting at that place on that date.

1/10th Royal Scots was a training battalion based at Berwick - men often train with one regiment, and then reappear serving on the Western Front with another, and I think that the 3/8th Royal Welsh Fusiliers is likewise a training unit. So I think that you need to concentrate on the two Royal Warwickshire battalions."