Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1/5th Northumberland Fus transferred to 25th Batt Tyneside Irish - but

Wend

Hello everyone

I am a newbie and this is my first posting, so I hope I have the correct Forum.

My great uncle Arthur Clayton born 1891 Staddlethorpe, Gilberdyke, Nr Hull, East Yorkshire and died 1 Sep 1917 Picardie, France.

According to info on Ancestry for his death it states the following:

Name: Arthur Clayton Birth Place: Gilberdyke, Yorks Death Date: 1 Sep 1917 Death Location: France & Flanders Enlistment Location: Hull Rank: Private Regiment: Northumberland Fusiliers Battalion: 25th Battalion (Tyneside Irish) Number: 267192 Type of Casualty: Killed in action Theatre of War: Western European Theatre Comments: Formerly 7728, 1/5Th Northumberland Fusiliers

My queries are:

1. I cannot find his WW1 Service Records so how does Ancestry know he signed up at Hull, we don't have a date for his enlistment either. Also how

would Ancestry know his former Battalion.

2. I have read the info for the 1/5 and 1/4th N Fus but I cannot find info relating to anyone being transferred to the 25th Batt Tyneside Irish.

3. We are not sure if he freely signed-up or if he was conscripted, but either way would he have been given a Battalion and joined immediately or would he have returned home and awaited further instructions as the 1/5th N Fus was conducted at Walker, Northumberland.

4. I also know he is not listed in the Sheen book Tyneside Irish as he was not initially in the Tyneside Irish to start with, this I know from Mr Sheen himself.

5. Where would he have seen action with both Battalions.

I await for anyone that can help me with any information to my queries,

Kind regards

Wend

Hello everyone

I am a newbie and this is my first posting, so I hope I have the correct Forum.

My great uncle Arthur Clayton born 1891 Staddlethorpe, Gilberdyke, Nr Hull, East Yorkshire and died 1 Sep 1917 Picardie, France.