Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Ration cards in Great War and WWII

Sinabhfuil

Were there ration cards in Britain and in Germany in the Great War? Were they different from those in World War II?

And what about people working in top secret installations - did they have the same rations (and ration cards) as everyone else, or were they issued free high-protein food?

There was certainly rationing in Britain in both world wars. I have no detailed knowledge of rationing in WW1, and it is possible some form of card was used.

In WW2 the word "card" did not apply and was never used. Each resident received a ration book, comprising a number of pages for the various goods. Clothing was also rationed, and there was a separate book for that purpose.

In WW2 there were no extra rations for any categories of people, save that children under five were specially entitled to oranges and orange juice.

Thank you, MagnumBellum and CGM.

Do you know what would happen if someone were assigned to Bletchley or to wherever they trained people like Odette for spying abroad? Were their ration books used in a canteen? And was the food better in these places than in most?

This seems really to be a technical question relating to WW2 rather than WW1. However, as the principle possibly applied in WW1, I will answer it.

Persons entering any non-self-catering residential establishment for more than a night or so were required to surrender their ration book to the administrators of the establishment, who would, under set procedures, claim the appropriate rationing quota for their residents. The quality of the fare provided would depend on the ingenuity and skill of those responsible for catering, including best use of the rationed supplies and what was available among non-rationed foods. There was no arrangement for any category of person necessarily to have better fare than any other category.