Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Acting Major James White Higgins - RFC & RAF

JOSTURM

Does anyone have any information on this officer who was from Glasgow and had previously served as a Lieutenant in the RFA.

He was mentioned in despatches in LG on 6.7.17 anyone know what this would have been for ? He was also entitled to TFWM.

MIC says he went to Egypt in Feb 16.

Thanks

Josturm

• 2 months later...

Hi Peter,

This is my maternal grandfather (b. 1885 - d. 1961). I'm rather new to genealogy and haven't much knowledge of deciphering military records and can't understand much of the attached file.

It is said he met T. E. Lawrence while in Egypt. His father Robert Cameron Higgins owned the Avonbank weaving factory in Glasgow.

I have a family photo of him in a military uniform as an older man (WWII?) where it is said he was a colonel (reserves or something?).

If you would be willing to contact me and help make sense of it all I would be very grateful.

Regards

Gavin Johns

post-105316-0-87916600-1389726010_thumb.

For the uninitiated, the TFWM being reference in the MIC is the Territorial Force War Medal:

The Territorial Force War Medal was a campaign medal awarded to members of the British Territorial Force and Territorial Force Nursing Services who served overseas in World War I; it is the rarest of the five British Great War medals.

The medal was established in April 1920 for award to members of the Territorial Force and Territorial Force Nursing Services who volunteered for service overseas on or before 30 September 1914, and served overseas. They had to:

• have been serving with the force on 4 August 1914 or
  • have completed four years service with the force before 4 August 1914 and rejoined the force on or before 30 September 1914

In addition provided they: