Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

recruitment offices in ireland

caroleah

can anyone tell me how men were recruited to specific regiments. Was it decided in Ireland or were they posted after going to UK..One of my grandfathers in Kilkenny went to the Royal engineers in1914, he was a saddler by trade.The other in Cork , he was a motor mechanic. went to Royal Army Service Corps MT Section. It seems a coincidence that these regiments were at these specific places when my grandfathers signed up.

Caroleah, Men recruited in Ireland would attend a recruiting office situated in Ireland where they would be attested and documented, medical etc. There. As a regular soldier or, after 1914, a Kitchener recruit they would be able to choose their regiment at the time of their enlistment at the recruiting centre in Ireland. Very often the recruiting staff would influence a man as to which regiment he joined. If Infantry then most likely in Cork the Royal Munster fusiliers, in Kilkenny then the Royal Irish Regiment, or if they had a skill then, as with your grandfather, Royal Engineers. In his case then he would be despatched to England where he would be trained at the RE. Depot, probably Chatham. With units like the RE and the ASC (not royal until 1918) they would have men wherever there were Garrisons. My Grandfather enlisted in the Royal Garrison Artillery at Dublin then after the formalities went accross the Irish Sea for training. His brothers also enlisted as regulars, the youngest into the Dublin Fusiliers but two others for some reason we have never established joined the East Lancashire Regiment. this could be an enthusiastic recruiter from that Regiment, who knows. So to answer your question it would be decided in Ireland and the 2 units you mentioned above would have detachments at almost all army garrisons.

Tony P