Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Lieut William Edwin Colesby, RFA

Bardess

Whilst waiting for his membership to this Forum, a friend of mine, Steve Colesby, has given me permission to post the following for discussion and enlightenment :D

Steve is the son of Lieut W E Colesby and has a number of documents that he wishes to share

post-39423-0-03287700-1381377517_thumb.j

post-39423-0-42128600-1381377765_thumb.j

post-39423-0-11229600-1381377820_thumb.j

D

WO374/14721 is his service file.I will take a look later and advise.

Colesby received a commission as a Temporary 2nd Lieutenant, RFA on 17 June 1918 and served with one of the RFA brigades of the 39th Divisional Artillery. He was once wounded.

Hello guys...

I'm Steve Colesby and William is my father

Thank you Di for making the original post, and thanks guys for your response...

I am a novice at all of this, so forgive me if I ask some very basic questions...

I am keen to discover as much as I can about my fathers service; we have had a few documents in our family which we have cherished without fully understanding. The first two posted above have taken pride of place and seem to be confirmation of two of his promotions.... do these documents have a name or title?... I'm simply wondering how we refer to them

I have recently obtained documents concerning his service from the National Archives and am slowly working my way through them to try develop a time line of sorts. I'm struggling to understand some of the documents, so I will probably be asking some of those basic questions with which you guys may be able to help.

He was born on Christmas day 1892, his attestation is dated 1910, when he was little more than 17 years old, for the Army Service Corps.

He died in 1957 when I was 11, so I remember him well, but didn't chat to him much about his earlier life.