Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

RFC Tunic

Andy Wade

Quick question, This picture is of Ernest Harding of the RFC. His family think he was ground crew (he was a joiner by trade) but he is wearing a tunic with a flap that covers the whole chest. My question is simple, is this standard dress for ground crew, or is it possible he flew at any time in his career?

post-9980-0-22806300-1381313897_thumb.jp

Quick question, This picture is of Ernest Harding of the RFC. His family think he was ground crew (he was a joiner by trade) but he is wearing a tunic with a flap that covers the whole chest. My question is simple, is this standard dress for ground crew, or is it possible he flew at any time in his career?

Andy,

Yes, that was the standard dress for all RFC., including ground crew, at that time. He is wearing the drab serge Pattern 1912 ' Maternity ' jacket, officially labeled ' Jackets, SD, RFC '.

The earlier version of this jacket had no shoulder straps.

Regards,

LF

Andy,

Here are two photographs of the RFC ' Maternity ' jacket being worn by RFC Airman, both the version as shown in your photograph with the shoulder straps, and also the earlier version without the shoulder straps.

Regards,

LF

C/o. S. Chambers ' Uniforms and Equipment of the British Army in WW1 '

post-63666-0-22762000-1381325845_thumb.j

post-63666-0-05344800-1381325860_thumb.j

Hello Andy and LF,

To quote from British Air Forces 1914-18 (1) by Andrew and Peter Cormack, "The definitive pattern was arrived at in June 1914, when ORs' versions acquired shoulder straps,..."

Looking at his right sleeve there is a possibility that he wears the two bladed propeller badge denoting 1st Class Air Mechanic. I'd suggest increasing the resolution in that part of the photo as it's partly covered by what looks like hair from another sitter. If it is in fact the badge in question then it dates the photo as being post October 1916 when it was introduced.