Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Thomas Walter Humphreys - 2/10 London Regt

blind spot

Hi im looking to find any help in finding out where my uncle Thomas Walter Humphreys 421465 was when he died of wounds july 1918.

i would be very greatfull for any help in reserching his unit , im aware from his medal roll he was awarded the victory and british medals,im very new to reserching but would like to know more, ive tried to obtain service records but cant seem to find any,thanks for any help

hello

you might get a better response if you mention who he served with

I've editted the title to show your uncle's name and regiment (contained in a tag) and I've also moved the thread to the Soldiers section

Alan

of course like i said new to this

pte thomas walter humphreys was as far as i know with the 2/10 bn london regiment "d" coy age 21 when died

You're quite lucky, that his medal card has an address on the back of it.

Looks like 9 Hare Street, Bethnal Green?

Unit was 10th London Regiment.

I can't find any service records either, but only had time for a quick look. Any more info you can supply? DOB? Place of residence etc?

Just one point - are you totally sure this is the right Thomas H? Lots to choose from...

Regards

Ian

EDIT - Took time to post.. got overtaken by the others!

The London Regiment medal roll ledger books will show the dates that a man served overseas - this is not the norm but a bonus to people researching men from the regiment. These medal rolls are held at the National Archives at Kew in London and are not online.

Steve.

Hi all thanks for your help my uncle Thomas walter Humphreys was born january1897 he was the son of george henry humphreys and matilda Humphreys

at that time they were living at 3 frimly street globe road mile end

thomas is my mothers elder brother, i do know his other brother served as well Alfred Edward Humphreys but regarding that information im clueless as to