Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Looking for information on 'Balloonatics'

Puddinhead

I'm writing a trilogy about three English siblings during the Great War. This forum has been a great deal of help during my first book (which I'm pitching to a literary agent on Saturday - wish me luck!) Thank you so much for your assistance!

I'm just beginning the research phase of my second book and I need information about reconnaissance balloons. My protagonist is a balloonatic with the RFC and I'm going to need to learn a whole lot more about them. For your reference, the time period is 1917, summer and fall and will center around the Battle of the Somme, and possibly include Passchendaele.

I need to know the nuts and bolts. What will my character physically do the moment he climbs into his balloon? What does he check, what levers does he pull? When he watches out for balloon busters, what will that be like for him and what will the ground crew be doing? How exactly does his ground crew bring him down and what is the time frame of that? He's also going to jump, successfully, twice. The mechanics of that would be terribly helpful to know.

Bascially, I'm looking for any and all info about balloonatics.

If you know of any articles or books, I'd appreciate it. I'm a Yank and my library is terribly unbalanced. Shelves upon shelves about WW2 and a handful of books on the Great War. I buy what books I can find, but Amazon doesn't carry the WWI selection that AmazonUK has. So far, I've come up with scratch regarding balloons.

Thank you so much for your thoughts on this.

The forum is stuffed with material on this - use the search facility and look for balloons in forums For a start I opened a thread on balloons and parachutes that will give you a grounding

Two books=

Memoirs of an Old Balloonatic , Goderic Hodges ,William Kimber 1972

The Balloonatics, Alan Morris, Jarrolds, 1970