The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

'Shellshock' as a cause of death

Guest Third_Light

Guest Third_Light

Hello to all, my first post here.

I'm researching kinsmen who served in the Royal Dublin Fusiliers, Highland Light Infantry, Anson Bttn, Royal Naval Division, and water company, Royal Engineers.

I was very curious to learn that my grandmother's elder brother died on the Somme (at Mesnil Martinsart, where he's buried) and his death was attributed to 'shellshock'.

While I'm no expert, I find that an unusual way to report a death. Has anyone else encountered this and can perhaps explain what it meant, given our conventional understanding of shellshock?

Thank you.

Al

Hello Al, Welcome to the forum

Maybe there was an associated injury such as concussion from a shell blast which may also have demonstrated symptoms associated with 'shellshock'

khaki

I was very curious to learn that my grandmother's elder brother died on the Somme (at Mesnil Martinsart, where he's buried) and his death was attributed to 'shellshock'.

While I'm no expert, I find that an unusual way to report a death. Has anyone else encountered this and can perhaps explain what it meant, given our conventional understanding of shellshock?

My Gt.Uncle died in a military hospital in Perth, Scotland allegedly of 'shell shock' in 1916. The reality of this particular case appears to be that he actually died of multiple internal injuries (haemorrhage, organ damage/failure, etc.) caused by (as mentioned by Khaki) the concussion of the shell explosion that hospitalised him. There was no mention of any actual physically visible injury.

Dave

Whilst I hate to hold up "Downton Abbey" as an accurate depiction of the war, I believe the footman died in the same way (no external injuries but fatal internal injuries).