Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Zeebrugge and Royal Marines

RMLI-East

Greetings:

Although I have been involved in various related fora, I am a newbie to GWF. I am delighted to be aboard and look forward to contributing to the discussion.

My primary interests are: a) the activities of the Royal Marines in the Eastern Colonies, during all periods, (including, of course, the years around the Great War); and b ) the activites of the Royal Navy's Armoured Car Division in the Great War.

That said, (although a little off-topic) I have just acquired the medals of a Marine who participated in (and, in fact, was KIA during) the Zeebrugge Raid: PLY 13578 Pte Ernest Edward ATTWOOD, (4th Royal Marine Battalion). Here is the link to his Commonwealth War Graves Commission entry: http://www.cwgc.org/..., ERNEST EDWARD

I have already downloaded his ADM 159 from the NA website. From this (see extracts below) I have several questions with which I would be most grateful to receive any assistance.

1. 1. Am I correct in assuming that Attwood served (effectively) all of his career in H Company, Plymouth Division; and if so, is there any way to find out more details about their movements and activities during his dates of service?

2. How do the RM divisions relate to Battalions? – ie., it was the 4th Bn which took part in the Zeebrugge Raid – but, although I see the marginal notation in the ledger sheet below that Attwood was in the 4th Bn, it still seems that his “primary” posting,(my terminology) at the time of the Raid, was to H Company, Plymouth Division;

3. When was the 4th Bn formed?; I notice that Attwood was posted to Portsmouth (again, seemingly while still serving in the H Coy, Plymouth Division) on 22 Feb 1918… is that when he would have joined the 4th bn?

4. Is it possible to ascertain which ship he served in during the Raid? Invincible?... Iris? … Daffodil?