Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

British library newspaper collection

2li

Has any member subscribed to the online Newpapers at the British Library, and is it worth it, I ask this has I am researching newspaper obituries of soldiers killed in WW1, has anyone had much sucess with this site,

and do they have all newspapers available. Any feedback with this topic much appriciated

Phil

Phil

I have a full subscription and have found it very useful in Great War research. But that is because it has the Liverpool Echo, close to my 'research base' for the full Great War period. Other areas, and there are MANY, are not as well represented. They DO NOT have all newspapers available, nor will they announce a schedule for additions.

If you like, I would be happy to do some look ups and/or research for you to help you assess its worth, just PM me the details.

As always, I'm happy do do look ups for other Forum Pals - within reason :)

Dear Stephen

Many thanks for reply do you think you could look up a few of these lads mainly from Cardiff, not sure what papers cover this area, and a couple of Crewe.

also are there any newpapers in the library for Herefordshire, Worcestershire,which ran editions for 1916

cheers for any leads

PHIL

Private, Philip I. T. Davies, 14354, 7TH KSLI killed-in-Action 18th August 1916, Age 18, born Cardiff, enlisted Cardiff; Son of William and Annie Davies, of 53, Glynne St., Canton, Cardiff

Private, Wilfred Refene Hall, 14881, 7TH KSLI killed-in-Action BATTLE OF BAZENTINE RIDGE 14th July 1916, Age 28, born Cardiff, enlisted Cardiff; Son of Isaac and Sarah Jane Hall, of 92, Neville St., Cardiff

Private, James Henry Jones, 26314, 7TH KSLI Killed-in-Action 13th November 1916, born Monks, Coppenhall, Crewe, enlisted Macclesfield, resident Crewe