Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Alexander Morton 306267 MM 8th Liverpool Regt

wulsten

Trying to find out where best to look for information on this chap Alexander Morton 306267 8th Liverpool (Irish) Killed in action 20th Sept 1917 near Schuler farm, believe won MM on 31st July, SDGW gives him enlisted Liverpool residence Aintree, have visited Liverpool library and looked at several papers including the Echo with no results, does anyone know if im looking in the right place or is there an alternative location where i should be looking, any help advice appreciated, Geoff

Harry, thanks for the Gazette entry, im wondering if there are any other libraries or newspapers that may be worth checking as im not from the Liverpool area, Geoff

He was born on 9th July 1895 and baptised a Catholic on 15th August 1895. His parents were Robert and Margaret (Mooney) Morton of 77 Kingswood Avenue, Aintree. He was a plumber by trade.

He is commemorated in the Hall of Remembrance at Liverpool Town Hall. I can't find him on the (incomplete) list of Liverpool local memorials.

He had previously been Private 3512 and first went to France on 3rd May 1915.

In the 1901 census the family were living in Stonewall Street, Everton. This would fit with Alexander being baptised at St Anthony's Latin Church.

Father, Robert, is listed as 'Time Keeper' in Bread & Biscuit Factory. (In 1911 census Robert is listed as 'Slave Keeper' - good old Ancestry!)

You can view a transcript of the 8th Irish war diary at Liverpool Museum -

• Reference code KR/1/10, Volume 10, 1/8th Bn. King's Liverpool Regiment, 1 May 1915 - 31 Jan 1918

Have a look at the KLR site: http://www.liverpool...arch/index.aspx. Alexander is in the database.

Hopefully Promenade will pick this up, he's the KLR expert.

I have indexes to pictures published in the Liverpool Echo/Evening Express/Catholic Herald and there are no articles for him.