Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

244th Siege Battery location 9th April 1917

KathyP

I'm a writer trying to reconstruct the last minutes of the life of poet Edward Thomas, who is described by his biographers and in an eye witness account as stepping out from an OP - or, from an associated dugout - and leaning into the opening to fill his pipe, when a passing shell stopped his heart. I need to be able to make a mental picture the OP, dugout and guns, which were near a chalk pit close to Beaurains. I've been advised that the war diary may not exist. Matthew Hollis states that the guns stood on a road in front of the OP.

In response to my post in another forum, Kevin suggested:

"I cannot see that the batteries war diary has survived at the Nat. Archives so one would have to view the Heavy Artillery Group it was attached to. If you start a new post in "Units" headed "244th Siege Battery location" and give the date perhaps someone may have the relevant diary to pinpoint it ( 35 HAG). If the location of the battery is the same as that given in the book then one couldn't say that it was the OP, or at least I would find it hard to believe."

Any thoughts on this very welcome.

May help to pick up a copy of 'London Gunners' which is a superb book detailing another 6 inch 26 cwt battery, the Honourable Artillery Company's RGA unit. Very descriptive and atmospheric, can pick up the Naval & Military Press reprint for cheap

Hi Kathy

I am not sure you are on the right track in putting the OP with the battery. 244 were undertaking wire cutting throughout the bambardment and as with all heavy artillery, were positioned some way to the rear. Their position is given in the VI Corps Heavy Artillery diary as M2 d.65.80 which I have shown on the map below (care of Linesman - as always!)

post-28845-0-66846400-1361818626_thumb.j

You will see on the modern map how near he is buried in Agny Cemetery to the original battery position.