Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Rifle Brigade Barracks, Winchester

spof

• Admin

I recently aquired a post card of the Rifle Brigade Barracks in Winchester and I was wondering if anyone could help put a date to it. The maker was a company called Valentine's and they seemed to have been based in Dundee. As they existed for over 100 years, I can't even narrow it down to a decade or 2 by that process. I'm not an expert in uniforms but they don't appear to be wearing the standard GW khaki if that helps.

And our very own Mr Broomfield has kindly sent me a modern photograph taken from the same viewpoint for comparison.

post-32914-0-43570600-1358679213_thumb.j

post-32914-0-72904300-1358679270_thumb.j

The photos are both taken from what is known as "Short Block". This is currently the site of the Gurkha Museum and HorsePower (King's Royal Hussars Museum), plus RHQ The Rifles and HHQ(S), KRH.

The building we can see are all now private residences; the barracks closed in the 80's and as all are Listed Buildings could not be demolished. The water feature and fountain were installed then.

The site also holds the Rifles Museum (in the old Armoury) and the Adjutant General's Corps museum and Peninsula Cafe, both in the Guard House.

Anyone interested in visiting will find the complex 10 minutes' walk from Winchester Station and similar from the city centre. Opening times are a bit random in Winter.

Also nearby is the museum of The Royal Hampshire regiment, housed in what was, I believe, the Officers' Mess of the old Lower Barracks (Peninsula Barracks being Upper Barracks), in St Cross Road.

When all museums are open Winchester is a highly-recommended trip for the military enthusiast.

Some recollections. Mr B will doubtless correct any error I make here; Peninsula Barracks was built on the site of the old Royal Palace of Winchester, which city had been the Saxon capital of England.