Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

What are they worth?

Beau Geste

The priest in my church has a relative's four WW1 medals. I haven't seen them yet but I'm assuming they are the 1914 and '15 Stars, the British War Medal and the Victory medal. He also has a "plaque" (his word) of some description that came with the medals. Two questions: what would they be worth if he chose to sell them and is Ebay the best place to advertise them ?

Harry

It would be wise wait until you see them before speculating on what they're worth. I'm no expert, but I don't think a man would be given both the '14 and '15 stars - one or the other. So you may have a military medal which would hike the value considerably. The rank and unit of the holder would also have a bearing.

Also the date of death. I'm no collector, but I'm aware that a casualty from some units, killed say on 1/7/1916 would attract a considerable premium.

Keith

Also the date of death. I'm no collector, but I'm aware that a casualty from some units, killed say on 1/7/1916 would attract a considerable premium.

Keith

Thanks Keith, I'm expecting him to pay me a visit with them within the next 48 hours so I'll know more then. We spoke immediately at the end of the church service so I didn't have a lot of time to ask questions. I did ask him to write down the number rank and name of the relative who earned them but when I got home I found he's written HMS London !! Was HMS his initials or what ? He said his relatve had served in the King's. It's all a bit vague but I'll know more in the next day or two

It would be wise wait until you see them before speculating on what they're worth. I'm no expert, but I don't think a man would be given both the '14 and '15 stars - one or the other. So you may have a military medal which would hike the value considerably. The rank and unit of the holder would also have a bearing.