Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Middlesex Regiment

jolu

Hi I'm new to this would be greatful for any help!

I'm researching my Nana's family and two of her Uncles died in the War.

Frank Crosby was in the Middlesex Regiment:1/8th (T.F.) Battalion I know he was in the Territorial Army and died 26 Apr 1916.

His brother Maurice Crosby was in the same regiment but the 11th Battalion and he died29 Jul 1916.

I've looked at their records on Ancestry but just wanted to get a bit more info about the regiment and their battalions and poss where they were/what they were doing when they died.

Thanks for any help or advice!

Welcome to the forum Jolu. A good starting point would be the 'Long, Long Trail' (you should be able to see a link to the site in the menu bar at the top of the page), but this link Click will give you a start on the 1/8th & 11th Bns movements during the war.

NigelS

Jolu,

Welcome,

Not sure if you have seen them but here is the photo of Maurice's grave, who is buried in

Serre Road Cemetery No.1, France and Frank's name on Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium.

post-5914-0-95403400-1348749557_thumb.jp

post-5914-0-33622000-1348749647_thumb.jp

Also Frank's medals: the 1915 star ribbon was mounted the wrong way round I still have to change it.

post-5914-0-46759800-1348750726_thumb.jp

And the back of his 1915 star:

post-5914-0-01465900-1348750759_thumb.jp

Regards,

Simon.

P.S. we are related by marriage on your nan's sisters side

Oh wow thank you so much for that Simon! I hadn't seen the pics of the grave or Frank's Name on the memorial so that was wonderful to see and his medals!!

I can't wait to show my Mum!

And how amazing that we are realted...Am about to try and send you a private message!

Thanks, Gemma (Jolu)

I believe that you need 5 posts to send a Private message. It will hopefully work now!

Steve.

Love it.

This forum rocks.

Cheers,

Simon

• 3 weeks later...